top of page

Meeting the Host Family

Today, the first thing we did was go to Los Domínicos. This is a huge crafts fair that was originally a monastery of the Dominican order. A vast majority of the crafts are made with Lapis Lazuli which is only mined in Chile and a couple countries in Africa. After this we countinued to take a bus to Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso (PUCV), the college where we would be studying, to meet out host families.

I wasn't nervous before we left to go there, but all of a sudden I was very nervous. I didn't know what to expect and had many doubts about the trip, but it was all in vain. When my Chilean mom arrived, although my spanish was weak, I was still able to understand her enough to know (in general) what she was trying to say to me (and I was terrified I wouldn't understand a thing). Then my host father arrived and we drove back to the house, and they told me about the different types of transportation available and the general direction of the school with respect to their house. I doubt I understood half of what they said, but they were so nice and willing to help. I later found out that they have been with ISA (International Studies Abroad) for over 13 years and knew I was in good hands. They then gave me a tour around the house, introduced me to the family, and left me to unpack. Most people would expect to feel uncomfortable their first day in a strangers house, but the family was so welcoming that I was comfortable almost immediately. Not with conversation, but that is only the result of my lack of confidence in my ability to speak their language. I am so happy and excited for this experience.

bottom of page